When/how does a topic "marked for deletion" get finally removed?
apache-kafka
Solution
tl;dr Set `delete.topic.enable = true` in `config/server.properties` of Kafka brokers and...be patient.
It happens with the latest development version of Kafka 0.8.3-SNAPSHOT:
➜ kafka_2.11-0.8.3-SNAPSHOT git:(trunk) ✗ ./bin/kafka-topics.sh --zookeeper localhost:2181 --create --topic my-topic --partitions 2 --replication-factor 1
Created topic "my-topic".
➜ kafka_2.11-0.8.3-SNAPSHOT git:(trunk) ✗ ./bin/kafka-topics.sh --zookeeper localhost:2181 --describe --topic my-topic
Topic:my-topic PartitionCount:2 ReplicationFactor:1 Configs:
Topic: my-topic Partition: 0 Leader: 0 Replicas: 0 Isr: 0
Topic: my-topic Partition: 1 Leader: 0 Replicas: 0 Isr: 0
➜ kafka_2.11-0.8.3-SNAPSHOT git:(trunk) ✗ ./bin/kafka-topics.sh --zookeeper localhost:2181 --delete --topic my-topic
Topic my-topic is marked for deletion.
Note: This will have no impact if delete.topic.enable is not set to true.
➜ kafka_2.11-0.8.3-SNAPSHOT git:(trunk) ✗ ./bin/kafka-topics.sh --zookeeper localhost:2181 --list
➜ kafka_2.11-0.8.3-SNAPSHOT git:(trunk) ✗
The point is to have `delete.topic.enable=true` in `config/server.properties` that you use to start a Kafka broker.
➜ kafka_2.11-0.8.3-SNAPSHOT git:(trunk) ✗ grep delete.topic.enable config/server.properties
delete.topic.enable=true
You can also ensure the setting be true in a broker's log:
➜ kafka_2.11-0.8.3-SNAPSHOT git:(trunk) ✗ ./bin/kafka-server-start.sh config/server.properties
[2015-07-24 22:33:26,184] INFO KafkaConfig values:
...
delete.topic.enable = true
Problem
I have issued the command to delete a topic: ``` ./bin/kafka-topics.sh --zookeeper localhost:2181 --delete --topic vip_ips_alerts ``` It seemed to give a happy response: ``` [2014-05-31 20:58:10,112] INFO zookeeper state changed (SyncConnected) (org.I0Itec.zkclient.ZkClient) Topic "vip_ips_alerts" queued for deletion. ``` But now 10 minutes later the topic still appears in the `--list` command: ``` ./bin/kafka-topics.sh --zookeeper localhost:2181 --list vip_ips_alerts - marked for deletion ``` So what does that mean? When will the topic be really deleted? How do I expedite this process?