Deleting new files after a p4 revert
perforce
Solution
I think what you're looking for is `p4 revert -w`. From the help:
`The -w flag causes files that are open for add to be deleted from the workspace when they are reverted.`
Note: I'm using the 2013.2/719516 client against a 2013.2/708877 server, in case that switch was added recently...
Problem
My workflow for testing my changes to our source code on a remote machine is the following: 1) On local machine: Shelve changes that I'd like to test 2) On remote machine (ssh): ``` $ p4 revert //... $ p4 sync $ p4 unshelve -s <changelist number> $ ./run_test_scripts ``` This seems to work fine when I've only made changes to files that already exists. If I've added new files these will be created during `p4 unshelve`, but not deleted during `p4 revert`. The documentation says that this is what `p4 revert` does so it isn't unexpected, but causes some problems if I want to test the same files again: ``` $ p4 revert //... <some file>#none - was add, abandoned $ p4 sync File(s) up-to-date. $ p4 unshelve -s <changelist number> Can't clobber writable file <some file> ``` Is there way I can delete the files abandoned Perforce?