Why does github show me "Your recently pushed branches"?
github
Solution
Those links let you quickly compare or open a pull request from one your branch. They're displayed when a recently pushed branch is ahead of the remote HEAD. Most of the time, the remote HEAD points to master (this can be changed by tweaking the "default branch" of the repository in the Admin section).
As it looks like your remote HEAD points to master, those links should not be displayed indeed. The good move would be to send a mail support@github.com..
Problem
I fast-forwarded a couple of development branches to be up-to-date with master, and pushed them to a private repository. The private repo is owned by the client's github account and I am a collaborator. Now, github shows me two links under "Your recently pushed branches:", each containing "Pull request" and "Compare". When I click on "Pull request" out of curiosity, it shows me: `Oops! master is already up-to-date with feature Try a different branch?`. It's the same story for any other branch because they are all fast-forward updated. So what is the point of these links?