What does Approve button do with changeset on bitbucket.org?

bitbucket, changeset

Solution

One use case is when a pull request gets a certain number of approvals, then it gets merged, either automatically or manually.

Thus it becomes easy to filter all the pull requests which are ready to be merged.

It's quite a common feature in code review tools. I have found it to be almost identical in `GitLab` too.

Problem

When using Bitbucket for source control, there's an "Approve" button that appears at the upper right of the commit page: It appears to generate an activity message in the repositories overview page: Is that all it does? What is the intended purpose of that button? Is it just a social feature?

Original source

Related problems