How to resolve Accidentally Deleting, Renaming, or Moving without Using the SVN Commands

svn, tortoisesvn

Solution

If you deleted a file, but forgot to use the SVN command, then right-click the folder that contained the file and choose "Check for Modifications." In the resulting dialog, the deleted file will show up with status as "missing." There, you can right-click it and choose "delete" for Subversion to understand you want it gone. If you don't want it gone, you can right-click it and choose "revert."

If you renamed, moved, or copied it, then your best bet is to rename/move it back or delete the copy and then use the appropriate Tortoise command correctly. Otherwise you'll lose the history link between the old file and the new file.

Problem

If you happen to remove, rename, or delete a file or folder and forgot to use the SVN command to do so in Windows and instead used the file system commands, how do you correct this with TortoiseSVN?

Original source